The Devil Walks Among You

The two women run on the treadmills next to me. Religion is their main topic, I struggle to focus on my own workout.

“He’s going to send all those perverts to jail.” The most talkative one nearly shouts over the noise of the machines. “He’s going to overturn roe v wade, and bring this country back to its Christian foundation. What this country was founded on, religion.”

I could practically hear my eyes roll. How ignorant could they be, I turn up my machine, my own breathing drowning them out until I can’t run.

“That’s what the evil one wants.” followed by how wonderful and compassionate her preacher is, and something about the pope, and praying for those who sin, sex before marriage kind of thing and something about fake news. “Their lives will catch up to them.”

I reign in every comment I want to spit at her. I shut off my machine and march across the gym to continue my workout. The TVs across the gym are all tuned to the same station, telling us that our president will not be keeping any of the promises that got him elected, and directly contradicts most of the women’s conversation. I wonder how there got to be so much hate in their religion, in their beliefs, and how it was my fault people were so terrible to each other. They’re doing it for God, not for me. Confounded I go home, to eat snacks and watch Netflix.

 

Published by

fancysushikitty

Writing short stories and flash pieces.

Leave a Reply

