Arming Day

Everyone waits anxiously for the day they receive their weapon. Its a way to protect yourself in the wilds, it means you can finally take quests from the boards in the center of town. Monster hunting, duels, even just exploring are possible once you can protect yourself. I have been waiting my twenty one long years for my weapon and today is the day. Shifting around on the balls of my feet I close my eyes and wait for it to materialize.

I feel the weight of it as it becomes solid. I cracked my eye open to see what it was. It had a long handle, which was flexible, and a long blade at the end. It was a long spear. I had never used a spear before, I practiced with my fathers sword and my mothers bow before, neither seemed to fit me right. I tugged at the golden tassels tied to the end of the shaft. The engraving on the blade was also gold. It looked beautiful, willowy, elegant, but difficult to use .

After a few practice thrusts against a tree in the communal yard I headed to the board to accept my first quest. Yohan marched over with his huge club made of rocks tied to a rough tree branch. There were ware marks on where he gripped it, he was only a few months older than me. I slung my spear over my shoulders, looping my arms around it.

“So what are you taking this time?” I asked trying to sound casual.

He grabbed one off of the wall seemingly at random and lumbered off, not even grunting in my direction. I examined the wall carefully, I wanted something at a beginner level, I had been warned that I might need to wait a couple days for one to show up. I spotted one that seemed pretty easy, just walk through the woods and find ingredients. I should only need to fight to defend myself if attacked. I shifted my spear, the weight was satisfying. I had to admit I liked it a lot.

I headed out to the forest to collect the ingredients, on the alert for any monsters. It didn’t take very long and I didn’t run into any trouble. I did see Yohan barreling through the forest after something. Back in town I turned my quest to the person who had requested it, she was a nice little old lady who was our local healer. I tried to find her weapon, more out of curiosity than anything else. I couldn’t spot one, and generally its not polite to ask.

Heading back home with the money jangling in my pocket, I stopped for a snack. Yohan’s parents owned a bakery that had the most fantastic desserts. There were rumors that his father’s weapon was a rolling pin, that had been disproved fairly quickly.

I went home with the baked treats. I handed them over to my mother. She smiled and put them on the table for the family to share. I told them the harrowing tale of herb retrieval. Mom laughed but dad looked at me sourly. I knew he disapproved of me making light of the dangers of questing. He had been dreading my birthday since the day I was born. His sword hung on the rack near the door. My spear was propped up next to it. My mother’s quiver and bow were in their bedroom since she had been doing maintenance on it for the past couple of days.

I didn’t know if my next quests would go this well, many people had died taking on quests they were too weak to accomplish. My dad seemed to think it was all going to fall apart at any minute.

 

 

Published by

fancysushikitty

Writing short stories and flash pieces.

Leave a Reply

